25 Affirmations to shift your relationship’s narrative

Our words create our worlds, and contribute to the energy within and around us. If you are not an “affirmation” kind of person, I get it. Words alone will not most likely shift your entire relationship… the change in action , habits and connection you are looking for are impacted by the thoughts and words you are speaking about your relationship.

If you are familiar with Pastor Steven Furtick, he in one of his recent sermons addressed anxious thinking and how often we say we “over think” things and situations when really we are UNDER thinking them”…and this made a lot of sense. It made me think about how much time and energy we can spend ruminating over small/constricting thinking that keeps us caught in the limiting beliefs and narratives about ourselves and our relationships. We need to allow ourselves to think beyond our past experiences and old narratives. We need expansive language, new vocabulary, thoughts new narratives that will support us in creating new experiences.

Here are 25 affirmations to begin speaking and thinking everyday to replace those old limiting narratives and thoughts:

  1. We are learning how to create more of what we want each day together
  2. I am open and curious to learning more about my partner’s interests, fears, and aspirations in life.
  3. We are creating new ways of interactions that serve our relationship.
  4. We embrace the challenges as opportunities to love deeper and grow together.
  5. I am committed to sharing my desires, fears and dreams
  6. Together we honor our differences and create shared meaning.
  7. Our conversations create connection and more clarity.
  8. We hold each other tighter during difficulties and storms.
  9. We learn to repair quicker and fight together better.
  10. We encourage each other to nurture our personal goals and passions.
  11. I take accountability for my words, actions and emotions.
  12. I show respect to my partner, even during conflict.
  13. I breathe deep to create the space needed to shift my responses during interactions with my partner.
  14. I am grateful for the memories and love created, what we are creating now and what is to come in the future.
  15. I openly share my needs with my partner and ask how i can support theirs.
  16. I am committed to doing things daily that reflect our shared values
  17. I am committed to honoring and protecting our relationship
  18. We lean into the difficult and uncomfortable conversations and embrace the wisdom that comes from them.
  19. We are building together each day with gratitude, consistency, commitment, openness, and love.
  20. We have an abundance of time and resources for all we are created to be and do.
  21. We create and honor the space for individual growth.
  22. Our bond and commitment to each other is sacred.
  23. We have fun and enjoy this adventure together
  24. We are creating wealth together.
  25. We are creating a legacy of love that will positively impact generations after us.

Let me know which of these are your favorite and if you have any of your own that have helped you in strengthening your relationship! Remember these affirmations really are starting points to help shift your thinking and soon you will be creating new narratives (expansive narratives) on your own.

Have a great week building together!

-Christina

Leave a comment